Betting on Myself

There has always been idealist, naive side of my brain that is constantly obsessed with the thought of changing the world. Somewhere along the ride I observed the power of startups to change the world with incredible people behind them, I've been hooked on how I could harness this energy to improve the lives of others. Though, I witnessed how tough of a journey it is and there is a lot I would need to learn, I did exactly that over the past several years.

But, at some point you realize that preparing to do "the thing" is a LOT different than actually doing "the thing." There is no substitute for the first-hand experience of the trenches, and it's the best way to truly evolve in this game. Therefore, I've decided to bet on myself and venture out of my own to build from scratch. 

I don't have any specific plans on what my next adventure will be... just a mindset, some guiding principles, and a whole lot of supportive figures in my life who are allowing me to embark on a brand new journey.

Starting this Saturday I will begin as an On Deck Founder Fellow to meet with potential cofounders, explore ideas, talk to customers, and maybe even start dabbling in building a product. It's rare for me to get excited about the future as I am right now; humanity has so much to improve upon and I hope that I can play a small part in its positive trajectory. 

I likely won't be sharing too much about the specifics of my journey just yet. But, I may continue to write my thoughts as they come inspired within me over the coming months.

I'd like to thank first and foremost my wife Abeera for giving me courage everyday and believing in me more than anyone. An incredible set of parents who have allowed me to pursue a life of dreams and passion with a pragmatic South Asian twist ;). My sister who has come to understand her brother's craziness. Two of my closest mentors Joshua Miller and William Spruill. My crazy friend Kieran Williams who shows me what a person is capable of through dedication. And plenty of other very close people who I share my appreciation to privately.